Executive Board

  • Ted Debaene

    Executive Director

    Ted is Vice President of Owen and White, Inc., Consulting Engineers. He has been specializing in Floodplain Management and Hydrologic Analysis for 35 years. He is experienced in Flood Insurance Studies, No Adverse Impact Analyses, Stream Improvement, Basin Models, Conveyance Analysis, Enhanced Zone A BFE, Determinations, and Expert Witness Services. Ted received a BS in […]

  • Kara K. Moree, CFM

    LFMA Chairman

    Kara K. Moree, CFM is the Natural Resource Manager at CSRS, Inc. in Baton Rouge.  She graduated from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette with a Bachelor of Science in Biology in 2005 and became a Certified Floodplain Manager in 2006.  Her past experience includes working for FEMA as a Floodplain Management Lead/Environmental Scientist and […]

  • Toby Fruge, P.E., CFM

    Vice Chairman

    Toby Fruge is a 2008 graduate from Louisiana State University where he earned a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering. In 2006 Toby was hired by Owen & White, Inc. to work in their water resources floodplain department. Toby currently has 10+ years of experience in working in the field of floodplain management with duties […]

  • Melissa Becker, CFM


    Melissa Becker is a native of Louisiana and began her career with the Rapides Area Planning Commission over 23 years ago.  She is currently the Assistant Director, and has been a Certified Floodplain Manager since 2003.  Melissa also serves as Chairman of the STAR Committee which is responsible for reviewing development activities in the parish […]

  • Darla Duet, CFM


    Darla is a native of Lafourche Parish and has been employed by the Lafourche Parish Government since April 1983.  She was appointed Permit /CRS Coordinator in November 1997.  In July 2006 she became a Certified Floodplain Manager through ASFPM and is now the Floodplain Manager for Lafourche Parish, a position she has held since August […]